A Good Place To Start

30Aug09
This photo was taken the day before I got engaged.

This photo was taken the day before I got engaged.

I got engaged in Venice on January 2nd, 2005. It rained the whole time we were there, and after dinner that night, Adam wanted to go for a walk. I did not. Everyone else went back to the warm, dry hotel. We went for a walk. We walked along the canal, and stopped to watch the boats and the rain fall, and it was cold and damp. I remember he pulled me close, and that he asked me to marry him, and that he didn’t get down on one knee because it was wet. I don’t remember anything other than the words “will you marry me?” come out of this mouth. It was very much a Charlie Brown moment, I couldn’t believe it was happening. I cried, he cried, we kissed, and walked through the streets of Venice. I was suddenly elated, and didn’t care about the rain at all.

Before we left for this trip, Adam interviewed for a job, and thought it went well, and thought that he would get it. He did not. He asked me to marry him without a ring. He didn’t want to bring me all the way to Venice and not propose.

So we picked a hand blown glass ring from one of the shops. It was perfect.

One Response to “A Good Place To Start”

  1. So cute! I love the blown glass ring.


Leave a Reply

