A Thousand Days In Venice

08Sep09

I just finished reading A Thousand Days in Venice, by Marlene De Blasi. This is completely not related to my previous and first ever post here at calamityshana about my getting engaged in Venice. It’s just that I always mark the pages of my favorite quotes as I read a book and I want a place to share them.  Well, lookie here! I can share them on my very own blog!

 

 “I knew a man who said, ‘Some people ripen, some rot. We grow, sometimes, but we never change. Can’t do it. No one can. Who we are is fixed. There isn’t a soul who can unfix another soul, not even his own,’ he said.” p.143

 

“Living as a couple never means that each gets half. You must take turns at giving more than getting. It’s not the same as a bow to the other whether to dine out rather than in, or which one gets massaged that evening with oil of calendula; there are seasons in the life of a couple that function, I think, a little like a night watch. One stands guard, often for a long time, providing the serenity in which the other can work at something. Usually that something is sinewy and full of spines. One goes inside the dark place while the other one stays outside, holding up the moon.”  p.147

 

“Guests on the terraces of Hotel Europa e Regina and the Monaco, as well as our own at the Bauer, wave and shout, and for a moment I float above the little tableau, believing, not believing, it is my tableau. This is happening to all of us, I think. This wedding, these spangles of sunlight, this glissade through blue water, the old sweet faces of the palazzi looking down, this pink-washed peace is for all of us. This is for everyone who was ever lonely. How I wish I could give away pieces of this day like loaves of warm bread.” p186

 

When I was reading the chapters of this book about the wedding, I was on a plane, delayed on the tarmac for three hours. I cried and cried as I read, squeezed between two other women. I didn’t feel like explaining to them that I ALWAYS cry at weddings. Even in books. So I just kept reading and wiping tears away, hoping they would leave me alone, and they did.

It was in those chapters that I marked all these passages that I liked. Sitting on a plane, on the tarmac, attending a wedding in Venice.

No Responses Yet to “A Thousand Days In Venice”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

